The Illness That Never Ends

I was infected by a virus that crossed the blood brain barrier leading to Viral Mengio-Encephalitis when I was 17 years old. It left me in a coma for a week and a lifetime of residual effects. And I was one of the lucky ones. I recovered and retained the majority of my cognitive abilities, but a variety of issues remain. To this day I have mood, concentration, and depression issues as well as severe insomnia. The virus may be gone, but Encephalitis is truly an Illness that Never Ends.

Thank you to PBS’s Nova for this article.

 

About Zachary H

I'm an attorney, writer, entrepreneur, and adventure
This entry was posted in Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

